Get Email Updates

Marine Mammal Experts Discuss Recent Right Whale Incidents in Maine

Contact:
Shelley  Dawicki
(508) 495-2378
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:
September 27, 2016

North Atlantic right whales are the rarest of the large whales that occur in New England waters. Over the last few days, three separate right whale incidents occurred in our region. Two right whale mortalities were reported, and one right whale was reported entangled and alive. 

Listen to the recording of the call

WHAT:
Conference call for the working press with NOAA Fisheries and marine mammal experts to discuss three recent right whale events in the northeast, and the results of the necropsy conducted on the 11-year-old female right whale.

WHEN:       
Tuesday, September 27 at 1pm EST
Call-In: 888-790-3140
Passcode: 2407546

WHO:

Name

Title and Affiliation

Contact Information

David Gouveia

Marine Mammal and Sea Turtle Program Coordinator, NOAA Fisheries Greater Atlantic Region

978 281-9280

David.Gouveia@noaa.gov

Mendy Garron

Marine Mammal Response Coordinator, NOAA Fisheries Greater Atlantic Region

978 282-8478

Mendy.Garron@noaa.gov

Dave Morin

Atlantic Entanglement Response Program

978 282-8472

David.Morin@noaa.gov

Sean Hayes

Chief, Protected Species, NOAA Northeast Fisheries Science Center

831 332-4165

sean.hayes@noaa.gov

Kim Durham

Rescue Program Director, Riverhead Foundation for Marine Research and Preservation and Necropsy Team Lead

KDurham@riverheadfoundation.org

William McLellan

Director, Marine Mammal Stranding Program, UNC-Wilmington

mclellanw@uncw.edu

Michael Moore

Senior Research Specialist, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

mmoore@whoi.edu

Lynda Doughty

Executive Director, Marine Mammals of Maine

ldoughty@mmome.org

Scott Landry

Director of Marine Animal Entanglement Response

Provincetown Center for Coastal Studies

508-250-2427

sclandry@coastalstudies.org