Get Email Updates


SCUTES Educational Kits: Elementary - High School

NOAA Fisheries has developed educational kits that contain activities and a full curriculum about sturgeon. Each kit contains a binder filled with a variety of sturgeon-themed lesson plans that encompass all subjects (Science, English, Math, History, etc.). All lessons meet the Massachusetts educational standards, and are easily adaptable to fit your students' needs. Materials for specific lesson plans have been included in the kits along with materials required for the appropriate activities. We have two types of kits depending on the needs of your school: 1. Elementary - Middle School level and 2. Middle - High School level.



Elementary - Middle School Kits include:

       Activities

Middle - High School Kits include:

Both kits include:

Want to borrow a kit for your classroom?

The kits will be available for teachers to sign out for their classrooms through NOAA Fisheries and through our partners.

Partners

Connecticut

Sarah Nahabedian
The Maritime Aquarium at Norwalk
10 N Water Street
Norwalk, CT 06854
Phone: 203-852-0700, ext 2353
Email: snahabedian@maritimeaquarium.org

Georgia

Victoria Young
Savannah State University Marine Science Outreach Program
SSU Box 20228
3219 College Street
Savannah, Georgia 31404
Phone: 912-358-4291
Email: youngv@savannahstate.edu

Dr. Kimberlie Harris, Ph.D
Samuel E. Hubbard Elementary School
558 Hwy 83 South
Forsyth, Georgia 31029
Phone: 478-994-7066
Email: kimberlie.harris@mcschools.org

Maryland

Bart Merrick
NOAA Environmental Science Training Center
Cooperative Oxford Lab
904 South Morris St.
Oxford, MD 21654
Phone: 410-295-3142
Email: bart.merrick@noaa.gov

Larissa Plants
NOAA Fisheries Office of Protected Resources
1315 East West Highway
Silver Spring, MD 20910
Phone: 301-427-8471
Email: larissa.plants@noaa.gov

Massachusetts

Janel Nockleby
Great Falls Discovery Center
2 Avenue A
Turners Falls, MA 01376
Phone: 413-863-3221
Email: janel.nockleby@state.ma.us

Matthew Freedman
New England Aquarium
Teacher Resource Center
Central Wharf
Boston, MA 02110
Phone: 617-973-6590
Email: trc@neaq.org

Amanda Madeira
Maritime Gloucester
23 Harbor Loop
Gloucester, MA 01930
Phone: 978-281-0470
Email: amadeira@maritimegloucester.org

California

Page Vick
NOAA Fisheries West Coast Region
650 Capitol Mall, Suite 5-100
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: 916-930-3728
Email: page.vick@noaa.gov

Green and white sturgeon materials coming soon!

 

Michigan

Sturgeon for Tomorrow
Brenda Archambo
1604 N. Black River Road
Cheboygan, Michigan 49721
Phone: 231-625-2776
Email: archambo@src-milp.com

North Carolina

Twyla H. Cheatwood
NOAA Fisheries Southeast Region, Habitat Conservation Division
Beaufort, NC 28516
Phone: 252-728-8758
Email: twyla.cheatwood@noaa.gov

Andy Gould
North Carolina Aquarium at Fort Fisher
North Carolina Department of Natural and Cultural Resources
900 Loggerhead Road
Kure Beach, NC 28449
Phone: 910-772-0560
Email: andy.gould@ncaquariums.com

New Jersey

Beth L. Sharack
James J. Howard Marine Science Laboratory
74 MaGruder Road
Highlands, NJ 07732
Phone: 732-872-3062
Email: beth.sharack@noaa.gov

New York

Tina Walsh
Hudson River Park
Pier 40
New York, NY 10014
Phone: 917-661-8751
Email: twalsh@hrpt.ny.gov

Virginia- Please contact a month in advance

Suzie Gilley
VA Dept. of Game and Inland Fisheries
P.O. Box 90778
7870 Villa Park Drive
Henrico, VA 23228
Phone: 804-367-0188
Email: suzie.gilley@dgif.virginia.gov

Anne Wright
Virginia Commonwealth University
Life Sciences Center for Environmental Studies
Box 842012
1000 West Cary Street
Richmond, VA 23284-2012
Phone: 804-828-0145
Email: abwright@vcu.edu

Wisconsin - Lake Sturgeon

Mary Holleback
Riveredge Nature Center
P.O. 26, Newburg, WI 53060
Phone: 262-375-2715
Email: mholleback@riveredge.us

NOAA Fisheries

To request a kit, please contact one of our partners above or send an email to jolvan.morris@noaa.gov with your name, contact information, number of students, and the kit level you are interested in.