Get Email Updates

Cooperation with Greater Atlantic Region States:
Endangered Species Act (ESA) Section 6 Program

Endangered Species Act (ESA) Section 6 Program Overview

Section 6 of the Endangered Species Act of 1973 (ESA) allows state agencies to enter into cooperative agreements with NOAA Fisheries Service to enhance collaborative efforts focused on the conservation of threatened, endangered, candidate, and proposed species.

Under section 6, a state agency may enter into an agreement with NOAA Fisheries Service if it establishes and maintains an "adequate and active" program for the conservation of endangered and threatened species. After the agreement is in place, NOAA Fisheries Service may assist in, and provide federal funding for, the implementation of the state's conservation program.

(click image for larger view)

States with Section 6 Agreements in the Greater Atlantic Region

The NOAA Fisheries Service Protected Resources Division maintains responsibility for implementing the section 6 program in the Greater Atlantic Region.

The following Greater Atlantic Region states have entered into a cooperative agreement with NOAA Fisheries Service under section 6 of the ESA:

Applying for a Section 6 Agreement

New state agencies that are interested in entering into a section 6 agreement with NOAA Fisheries Service should view the guidance document that has been developed for more information on the procedure and application submission requirements.  Please contact Section 6 Program staff for any questions on the development of an application for an agreement.

Contact Information

Lanni Hall, Greater Atlantic Region Section 6 Coordinator 
Phone: (978) 282-8463 

Lisa Manning, National Section 6 Coordinator and Species Recovery Grants Federal Program Officer
Phone: (301) 427-8466